Balearic Cup 2019 - Menorca CC v Ibiza CC -

Skipper Sam Gooda won the toss and chose to bat first in the 31st edition of the Balearic Cup competition held at the picturesque ground of Biniparrell in Menorca. Unfortunately, however, Ibiza’s batsmen were unable to adjust to the livelier pitch, as well as probing pace bowling and lively fielding from Menorca, and soon lost wickets to collapse to a lowly 18/4! Menorca maintained the pressure on the visitors and it was only Chris Prentice (10) and allrounder Jim Harvey (33) who showed some resistance, followed by an undefeated 26 from the dependable Paul Cruttwell, that allowed Ibiza to struggle to a minimal 98 all out in 37 overs.

All the Menorca bowlers were in wicket taking form, with Julian Hagger (3) standing out, supported by Grant Wilson (2), Tim Hayden (2) and veteran Dave Catterall (2).The latter also excelled with 7 maiden overs!

It was always going to be hard to defend a target of 99 at less than 3 runs per over with Menorca batting at home and so it proved. Allrounder Julian Hagger scored an assured 44 not out, and impressive teenager Jake Cockcroft recorded an undefeated 50, to take the hosts to a comfortable 9 wicket victory in 21 overs. Ibiza bowler Jim Harvey took the only wicket to fall.